Skip to content

Canadian Pirate Party – not for everyone

December 15, 2012

This is a slightly edited version of an e-mail that I sent to the Canadian Pirate Party. Their site does not list any contact e-mails, telephone numbers, or physical address. I therefore asked around and subsequently found a public relations contact address which is thought to be valid. I have not yet received a response.

Date: December 11, 2012
To whom it may concern,

I have tried to join the Canadian Pirate Party on several occasions now. Firstly, it seems that the web site form is defective and I get an error code. Perhaps other machines, operating systems, and browsers in my collection will be able to supply the wanted interface, but I am unwilling to accept that a web site hosted by a group that purports to be proponents of an open web, cannot be used with any and all software. There must therefore be a problem with the site, or your server.

Secondly, I am shocked that I cannot participate on your forum. Of course I am willing to join the party, and will gladly pay a membership fee, but since your forum is your only (presumably) functioning contact with the public, I find it distasteful that one needs a major credit card to do so. I wish to point out that in Canada people with disabilities typically do not have an income which allows them to qualify for one of those cards. Is this indicative of the Party’s concept of inclusiveness, or is it just an oversight because the Party’s operators themselves are living comfortable lives with no economic concerns? I certainly hope not. I think it behooves the Pirate Party to welcome all people, and not just those with plenty of disposable income and running fashionable software.

I honestly think that your party would do well to have a published e-mail address for contact purposes. I found this one by contacting another PP and this is the best they could offer. Does a potential member need to reference the internet domain name database, and do you expect people to know how to do that?

Your web site not only has a defective input form, but is wholly inaccessible with some browsers. It does not even come close to meeting national accessibility standards. I think that it would be appropriate for your web site to not only include important documents about what you stand for, but to be written in a free and accessible manner, and not relying on closed source proprietary software.

Perhaps more important, it would be enlightening if you were to describe the demographic that you wish to address and presumably welcome. Being a senior citizen, I find the latter point to be particularly important as I was hoping to be an “opinion setter” among my social mores regarding your party. Of course, people on low incomes, or the visually impaired, can tell right away that you don’t wish to hear from them. Your IT presentation makes it difficult for me to trust your political position.

I apologise for the tone of my letter, but your on-line welcoming has left much to be desired. If you wish to gain me as a member and have me continue to advocate for the Pirate Party of Canada, I would appreciate a response.

Sincerely Yours,
Ole Juul
Canada

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bryanalias r.k. permalink
    January 8, 2013 4:32 am

    Arrghh where do i sign up? I want to be a pirate, fly the jolly roger on my russian side hack…;…arrrrghh

  2. February 28, 2013 6:05 am

    Hi Libby! I am indeed very pleased that you took the time to comment. I’m occupied with other stuff just now, but will revisit this soon. The pirate party clearly does offer something at this point in time, buy I’ve discovered many problems which I would like to discuss at some time.

    Cheers, Ole

Leave a Reply

